Search form

Search all BPS schools

Click here on any page for easy access to the

You are here

Jefferson, Kennedy students named National Merit Scholar semifinalists

Seven seniors from Bloomington’s two high schools have been named semifinalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. David Floeder, Joshua Lueth, Kenny Peng and Samuel Vacura (Jefferson) and Grady Cromer, Elias Sinner and George Thielen (Kennedy) are candidates for a merit scholarship award to be awarded this spring.

More than 1.6 million high school juniors entered the 2018 National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which serves as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of semifinalists includes the highest scoring entrants in each state.

Another nine students have earned National Merit Commended Student status, which recognizes students performing in the top 5 percent of all entrants on the qualifying test. Commended Students include Jefferson’s Umaimah Ahmed, Dana Bureac, Camille Jones, Adeline Vacura and Nathan Wandmacher and Kennedy’s Gunner Anderson, Alana Harste, Julian Redish and Lia Thomson.